Barisal Burners won the opening game of Bangladesh Premier League 2012

In the opening game of Bangladesh Premier League 2012, Chris Gayle shows some lusty hittings and giving Barisal Burners an easy win over Sylhet Royals. After winning the toss Burners choose to field and restricted Royals to a low score which is achievable. Read this article for more information.

Brutal hitting by Chris Gayle in the opening game of the Bangladesh Premier League 2012 is a perfect setting for the first edition of the tournament. This is an encounter between Sylhet Royals and Barisal Burners. Both teams were having some big names from International cricket, but it was Gayle who steals the show by hitting ten long towering sixes and seven fours completing his century in 44 balls. Here is the squads of both teams of the match -
Sylhet Royals
Kamran Akmal (Wicket-keeper), Imrul Kayes, Peter Trego (Captain), Alok Kapali, Scott Styris, Sohail Tanvir, Naeem Islam, Brad Hogg, Noor Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shuvagata Hom
Barisal Burners
Ahmed Shehzad, Chris Gayle, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Mithun Ali (Wicket-keeper), Nazmul Islam, Brad Hodge, Shane Harwood, Shahriar Nafees (Captain), Mominul Haque, Yasir Arafat, Farhad Hossain

Match Review of Bangladesh Premier League, 1st Match - Sylhet Royals vs Barisal Burners

Barisal Burners captain Shahriar Nafees choose to field after winning the toss. Sylhet openers Kamran Akmal was caught by wicketkeeper in the second over on the bowling of Shane Harwood. After this blow Sylhet captain Trego and Kayes played cautiously and past the 50 runs for the team before Kayes losses his wicket. Alok Kapali came to the crease and supported his captain. Both took the score of the team to 157 when Trego was bowled by Yasir Arafat in the 20th over. Sylhet Royals just managed 165 runs in 20 overs.
In reply the Barisal Burners openers Chris Gayle and Ahmed Shehzad both remains unbeaten till the team won in 14th over. Gayle played his shots all round the ground. In an over from Scott Styris he scored 27 runs and 23 runs from an over by captain Trego. Gayle's partener also played well and hits boundaries whenever got chance.

Brief Scorecard of Bangladesh Premier League, 1st Match - Sylhet Royals vs Barisal Burners

Sylhet Royals: 4/165 in 20 Overs
Peter Trego - 62 runs in 54 balls
Alok Kapali - 56 runs in 36 balls
Yasir Arafat - 2 for 33 in 4 overs
Shane Harwood - 1 for 20 in 4 overs
Barisal Burners: 0/167 in 13.1 Overs
Chris Gayle - Unbeaten 101 runs in 44 balls
Alok Kapali - Unbeaten 56 runs in 35 balls

Match Information regrding Bangladesh Premier League, 1st Match - Sylhet Royals vs Barisal Burners

  • Match - Sylhet Royals vs Barisal Burners (1st Match of Bangladesh Premier League 2012)
  • Match Venue - Shere Bangla National Stadium (Mirpur)
  • Toss - Barisal Burners (choose to bowl)
  • Result - Barisal Burners won by 10 wickets
  • Player of the Match - chris Gayle


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: