History, Winners and Venue of the team golf tournament Royal Trophy

Europe and Asia faces each other in the sports of Golf through one of the most popular golf team tournament Royal Trophy. Here is given the history, venue and result of this golf tournament which as held at Amata Spring Country Club in Bangkok, Thailand.

Royal Trophy logoRoyal Trophy is a men golf team tournament which is played between Asia and Europe Team consisting of eight man in each team. Five editions of this tournament has been played so far from its founding. In 2011, the tournament was played at Black Mountain Golf Club in Thailand. Except that all other editions of this tournament were played at Amata Spring Country Club, Bangkok (Thailand).

Royal Trophy

History and Winners of the Royal Trophy

Royal Trophy was first played in 2006 in which Europe team won against Asia by a score of 9-7. Europe team has dominated in this tournament winning it four times and losing only once in 2009. Naomichi Ozaki of Japan has captained the Asia team for four times. Top Scottish player Colin Montgomeire has captained Europe for two years in 2010 and 2011. Here is the complete list of results of Royal Trophy.

Royal Trophy Results from 2006-2011

  • 2006 - Europe won by 9-7
  • 2007 - Europe won by 12.5-3.5
  • 2009 - Asia won by 10-6
  • 2010 - Europe won by 8.5-7.5
  • 2011 - Europe won by 9-7

  • Related Articles

    History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

    This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

    History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

    This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

    More articles: Golf tournaments


    No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: