History, Winners and Prize Money of Qatar Masters, a professional Golf tournament

Qatar Masters also known as Commercialbank Qatar Masters is an European Tour golf tournament played at Doha Golf Club in Qatar. It was established in 1998. A complete informtion regarding Qatar Masters is given below like - History of the tournament, prize money of the tournament, etc.

Qatar MastersQatar Masters is a professional golf tournament which was established in 1998. It is a European Tour golf tournament having prize money of 2.5 million US Dollars in 2011. The Qatar Masters is a Stroke play format golf tournament and played at Doha Golf Club which is 7,388 yards in length.

History and Past Winners

In 1998, the inaugural edition of the Qatar Masters was played which was won by Scottish golf player Andrew Coltart. Andrew Sherborne and Patrik Sjoland were the runners-up of the inaugural event. In 2006, the name of the tournament changes to Commercialbank Qatar Masters, due to sponsorship reasons.

Adam Scott of Australia won the tournament twice - first in 2002 and second in 2008. Here is the complete list of past winners of the Qatar Masters -
  • 1998 - Andrew Coltart (Scotland>
  • 1999 - Paul Lawrie (Scotland)
  • 2000 - Rolf Muntz (Netherlands)
  • 2001 - Tony Johnstone (Zimbabwe)
  • 2002 - Adam Scott (Australia)
  • 2003 - Darren Fichardt (South Africa)
  • 2004 - Joakim Haeggman (Sweden)
  • 2005 - Ernie Els (South Africa)
  • 2006 - Henrik Stenson (Sweden)
  • 2007 - Retief Goosen (South Africa)
  • 2008 - Adam Scott (Australia)
  • 2009 - Alvaro Quiros (Spain)
  • 2010 - Robert Karlsson (Sweden)
  • 2011 - Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)

Related Articles

History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

More articles: Qatar Masters Golf tournament Golf tournaments


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: