Indian squad for the ODI series announced, Sachin Tendulkar returns

The Indian team for Tri-Nation Cricket series in Australia have been announced. Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar and allrounder Irfan Pathan have been included in the team. Spinner Harbhajan Singh is once again dropped. Sehwag is the vice captain. Read more below.

The Indian team for Tri-Nation Cricket series in Australia have been announced. Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar has been recalled to the 17-member squad. The series, which commences on February 5, includes Sri Lanka other than Australia and India.
Sachin Tendulkar has returned to the one-day squad after a gap of 8 months. His last ODI was in April 2011, the World Cup final against Sri Lanka. He was the 2nd highest run scorer in the tournament as well. The anticipation for his record century is continuing. The fans are expecting Sachin to score the 100th century in the tri-series if not in the forthcoming Adelaide test against Australia. Sachin ended a similar drought of centuries in 2007-08 CB Series final against Australia.
Another noted selection is that of the allrounder Irfan Pathan, who did well in the game against West Indies on his return to international cricket after a break of two years. Praveen Kumar, who had been on rest owing to a fractured rib, has also been recalled. The spin section will be led by Ravichandran Ashwin and Rahul Sharma. The middle order batsman Manoj Tiwary has also found his spot in the team. Pacers Vinay Kumar and Umesh Yadav retained their place whereas Ishant Sharma and S Sreesanth could not make it to the team. Parthiv Patel is the second wicket keeper in the squad.
Virender Sehwag has been appointed as the vice captain. Off spinner Harbhajan Singh has been once again avoided by the selectors. He was rejected due to fitness problems.
India will also play two 20-20 matches against Australia before the triangular series.

Indian ODI Squad for Tri series cricket in Australia

MS Dhoni (captain)
Virender Sehwag (vice-captain)
Sachin Tendulkar
Gautam Ghambhir
Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma
Suresh Raina
Ravindra Jadeja
Ravichandran Ashwin
Umesh Yadav
Praveen Kumar
Vinay Kumar
Manoj Tiwary
Rahul Sharma
Parthiv Patel
Zaheer Khan
Irfan Pathan


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: