History, winners and venues of BMW International Open, a golf tournament played in Germany

This article is about a professional golf tournament which is played in Munich city of Germany. A tournament which is the part of European Tour and has currently prize money of about 2 million euros. We are talking about BMW International Open. A complete detail about the tournament is given here.

The BMW International Open is a proessional golf tournament played in Germany. It is the part of European Tour. It is strokeplay format golf tournament mostly played in the month of June annually.

BMW International Open

History and Prize Money of BMW International Open

The tournament was founded in 1989 and played annually at Munich city of Germany. BMW AG is the promoter of the event.

Currently the Prize money of this tournament is about 2 million Euros. Paul Azinger from USA and Thomas Bjorn from Denmark has won this tournament twice. England golf players has always dominated in this tournament. Martin Kaymer become the first German player to won this tournament in 2008 BMW International Open.

Winners of BMW International Open in previous years

  • 1989 - David Feherty (Northern Ireland)
  • 1990 - Paul Azinger (USA)
  • 1991 - Sandy Lyle (Scotland)
  • 1992 - Paul Azinger (USA)
  • 1993 - Peter Fowler (Australia)
  • 1994 - Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)
  • 1995 - Frank Nobilo (New Zealand)
  • 1996 - Marc Farry (France)
  • 1997 - Robert Karlsson (New Zealand)
  • 1998 - Russel Claydon (England)
  • 1999 - Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)
  • 2000 - Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)
  • 2001 - John Daly (USA)
  • 2002 - Thomar Bjorn (Denmark)
  • 2003 - Lee Westwood (England)
  • 2004 - Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)
  • 2005 - David Howell (England)
  • 2006 - Henrik Stenson (Sweden)
  • 2007 - Niclas Fasth (Sweden)
  • 2008 - Martin Kaymer (Germany)
  • 2009 - Nick Dougherty (England)
  • 2010 - David Horsey (England)
  • 2011 - Pablo Larrazabal (Spain)

Related Articles

History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

History, winners and venues of Scottish Open, a professional golf tournament

Scottish Open is one of the professional golf tournament played on European Tour. Having a heavy prize money of 3 million british pounds, the tournament is very important for the golfers. The information about this tournament like its History, past winners and venues of Scottish Openn is given in the article below.

More articles: BMW International Open golf tournament Golf tournaments


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: