History, Winners and Venue of the Australian Open, a Golf tournament

This article is about the Australian Open, a part of the PGA Tour of Australasia. Started in 1904, the inaugural tournament was won by Michael Scott. Gary Player of South Africa won this tournament 7 times. Here is given the history, winners and venue of this event.

Australian Open logoAustralian Open is a professional golf tournament and part of the PGA Tour of Australasia and OneAsia Tour. The current prize money of this event is $ 1,500,000. The tournament is also the National Open golf tournament of the country.

History and Venue of the Australian Open

The tournament was started in year 1904 and held annually. Michael Scott won the inaugural Australian Open and again won the tournament in 1907.

The tournament is played in the city of Sydney (Australia) at The Lakes Golf Club, which is the most prestigious private golf club of Sydney.

Winners of the Australian Open in previous years

The inaugural edition of the Australian Open was won by Michael Scott. Gary Player of South Africa has won the event most number of times. He won the Australian Open seven times. Legendary golf player Jack Nicklaus won this event 6 times.

Greg Norman and Ivo Whitton won the Australian Open five times each. 2011 Australian Open winner is Greg Chalmers of Australia. Here is given the list of the winners of the Australian Open after 2000 :
  • 2001 - Stuartt Appleby (Australia)
  • 2002 - Stephen Allan (Australia)
  • 2003 - Peter Lonard (Australia)
  • 2004 - Peter Lonard (Australia)
  • 2005 - Robert Allenby (Australia)
  • 2006 - John Senden (Australia)
  • 2007 - Craig Parry (Australia)
  • 2008 - Tim Clark (South Africa)
  • 2009 - Adam Scott (Australia)
  • 2010 - Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)
  • 2011 - Greg Chalmers (Australia)

Related Articles

History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

History, winners and venues of Scottish Open, a professional golf tournament

Scottish Open is one of the professional golf tournament played on European Tour. Having a heavy prize money of 3 million british pounds, the tournament is very important for the golfers. The information about this tournament like its History, past winners and venues of Scottish Openn is given in the article below.

More articles: Australian open golf tournament Golf tournaments


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: