Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev selected for ICC Dream X1

This article gives you details about ICC Dream X1 which is announced in 18th july 2011. Four Indians were selected for ICC Dream X1. Names and position of Each player is quoted in this article. Words from ICC chief executive about ICC Dream X1 were also given in this article.

Four Indians are nominated in ICC Dream X1 announced in July 18 2011. Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev are the four Indians who got a place ICC Dream X1. 11 players are selected through voting online by the cricket fans in official website of ICC. Other players include four from Australia, two from west indies and one from Pakistan. Millions of fans were voted in ICC website and selected this Dream X1 for ICC.

Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Donald Bradman, Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara were selected as batting stars with maximum vote. Kapil Dev of Indian legend were selected as all rounder. Adam Gilchrist were chosen as best wicket keeper in the world with highest votes. Shane Warne is selected as the great spinner for ICC Dream X1. Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Glenn McGrath were selected as fast bowlers of ICC Dream X1. The sad news is that there is not a single player of England in ICC Dream X1.

ICC Dream XI

1)Virender Sehwag
2)Sunil Gavaskar
3)Donald Bradman
4)Sachin Tendulkar
5)Brian Lara
6)Kapil Dev
7)Adam Gilchrist (wicketkeeper)
8)Shane Warne
9)Wasim Akram
10)Curtly Ambrose
11)Glenn McGrath

Words from Haroon Lorgat - ICC chief executive About ICC Dream X1

"The huge interest generated during the past month was amazing as media and supporters worldwide speculated and then selected the fan's Greatest Test team of all time. It supports our view of the everlasting popularity of Test match cricket"

"It would have been quite special to see this team take the field of play given the array of batting and bowling talent contained within the playing eleven".

"Selecting from such greats is no easy job, and not surprisingly, the selection mainly reflects modern players seen by present day supporters. There are many greats from the past who would have easily merited selection in this team, but it is nevertheless interesting to see the fans view on their greatest eleven of all time."


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: