Teams, rules, date, time and venue of Sri Lanka Premiere League (SLPL)

Just following the pattern of Indian Premiere League, Sri Lanka is also starting the same to nurture their local players. This year 1st Sri Lanka Premiere League (SLPL) will start. Here you can get information about pattern of the league, no of matches, teams, foreign players in the league and much other information.

Indian Premiere League is not only lucrative in monetary terms for both the cricket board and players but it also helped in giving exposure to local players in sharing dressing room with International players and getting tips from them. Many new players emerged in IPL and is is said that this league played an important role in world cup victory for India.

Sri Lanka following the pattern of IPL is starting Sri Lanka Premiere league in 2011. As per Sri Lankan cricket board, this will help to nurture local players of Sri Lanka and they can get opportunity to play with International players. Seeing the popularity of twenty 20 cricket and IPL, Sri Lankan board is assured of its success. Every preparation for first edition of SPL has been completed.

Starting date and format in Sri Lanka premiere league

The first edition of Sri Lanka Premiere league T20 cricket tournament will start from 19th July to 5th August. There will total 24 matches in 18 days time. Total seven teams are there in Sri Lanka premiere league and each team will play one match with each other and then semifinal and final matches.

Each team can have five foreign or overseas players and can play only four in final eleven. In IPL each team can have 10 overseas players and can play four in final eleven. Each team will also have to play one under 21 Sri Lankan cricketer in final eleven.

The winner of Sri Lanka Premiere league will play in Champions league.

The SLPL will not be run by Sri Lankan cricket board but a Singapore based entertain met Company Somerset Entertainment

Teams of Sri Lanka premiere league Twenty 20 cricket tournament

Sri Lanka had already announced names of seven teams for the provinces, it is expected that two more teams will be added later in next three seasons and it all depends on the success of the tournament.

The teams are
Basnahira Bears
Kandurata Kites
Nagenahira Nagas
Ruhuna Rhinos
Uthura Oryxes
Uva Unicorns
Wayamba Wolves

Foreign players in Sri Lanka Premiere league

As there is limitation f keeping only five overseas players in each squad and can play four out of them in final eleven, each team is contracting very carefully seeing the availability and other factors. Few overseas players like Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Shahid Afridi and Herschelle Gibbs had already signed the contract and Shahid Afridi will even lead on of the team. Other players who already signed the contract are Daniel Vettori, Kevin O Brien, Daniel Christian. Many other overseas players are in contact and there will be about 35 overseas players 5 in each team.

From India Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan are the two prominent name which will be playing in SLPL.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: