History, Winners and Venue of the professional golf tournament Joburg Open

Joburg Open is the highest paying golf tournament in South Africa and it is also one of the four golf tournaments in South Africa which are the part of European tour. To know about the history, venue and winners of Joburg Open, read this article.

Joburg Open is a professional golf tournament for men and is the part of European Tour and Sunshine Tour. It is 72-hole Stroke-play format golf tournament and been played annually in the month of January. The venue of this golf tournament is Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club located at Johannesburg city of South Africa. This golf club is the result of merger between two golf clubs - Royal Johannesburg Golf Club and Kensington Golf Club. The following are the sponsors of this tournament -
Joburg Open

  • City of Joburg
  • Bwired
  • BMW
  • Investec
  • EOH
  • The Pro Shop
  • Legacy Hotels and Resorts
  • Primedia Outdoor

  • History and Prize Money of Joburg Open

    Joburg Open was first played in 2007. The part of Sunshine Tour, the tournament is co-sanctioned by European Tour so it offers a big Prize money of 1.3 million Euros making it the highest paying golf tournament in South Africa. It is one of the four golf tournaments played in South Africa which are the part of European Tour. The inaugural edition of the tournament was won by Ariel Canete of Argentina. Branden Grace of South Africa is the current champion of the tournament winning the title with a score of 270. Charl Schwartzel of South Africa has won the Joburg Open for maximum two times. He won the tournament for two consecutive years in 2012 and 2011. He also holds the record of scoring best score of this tournament in 2010 edition. Here is the complete list of winners of Joburg Open in past years.

    Winners of Joburg Open from 2007 to 2012

  • 2007 - Ariel Canete (Argentina)
  • 2008 - Richard Sterne (South Africa)
  • 2009 - Anders Hansen (Denmark)
  • 2010 - Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
  • 2011 - Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
  • 2012 - Branden Grace (South Africa)

  • Related Articles

    History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

    This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

    History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

    This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

    More articles: Golf tournaments


    No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: