Dhaka Gladiators become the winner of inaugural Bangladesh Premier League

Dhaka Gladiator Team has won the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League tournament - a T20 tournament. They defeated Barisal Burners in the final of the tournament. Shakib Al Hasan become the Player of the tournament. For more information, read the given article -

Dhaka Gladiator led by Mashrafe Mortaza has won the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) after defeating Barisal Burners by 8 wickets in the final of the tournement. Shakib Al Hasan of Khulna Royal team become the Man of the Tournament for his excellent all-round performance.
BPLOne-Sided Final
The final of the tournament was played at Shere Bangla National Stadium (Mirpur) between both the teams was a one-sided final. Ater winning the toss Gladiators captain choose to field. Opener Ahmed Shehzad and Brad Hodge started the innings well. They put together 43 runs for the opening stand in good pace before Shehzad was caught by Saeed Ajmal on the bowling of Shahid Afridi. The spin duo of Afridi and Ajmal gave two more blows to the Burners before their score reads 50. No other batsman except Burners captain Hodge was comfortable at the wicket. Burners only managed 140 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets in which Hodge's contribution was 70*. Shahid Afridi was the most successful bowler with a bowling figure of 3/23.

In reply, Gladiators too lost their first wicket on the score of 26. But then opener Imran Nazir and Anamul Haque put together 110 runs for the second wicket partenership. Gladiators won the match in the sixteenth over of their innings. Imran Nazir was the top scorer with 75 runs in 43 balls. He struck 6 fours and 6 sixes in his inning.

Top five Batsman

  • Ahmed Shehzad - 486 runs in 12 matches
  • Imran Nazir - 390 runs in 11 matches
  • Kamran Akmal - 356 in 10 matches
  • Brad Hodge - 346 in 12 matches
  • Deon Smith - 346 in 11 matches

Top five Bowlers

  • Elias Sunny - 17 wickets in 12 matches
  • Mohammad Sami - 17 wickets in 11 matches
  • Shakib Al Hasan - 15 wickets in 11 matches
  • Enamul Haque Jnr - 13 wickets in 9 matches
  • Sohail Tanvir - 13 wickets in 10 matches


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: