History, winners and venues of Scottish Open, a professional golf tournament

Scottish Open is one of the professional golf tournament played on European Tour. Having a heavy prize money of 3 million british pounds, the tournament is very important for the golfers. The information about this tournament like its History, past winners and venues of Scottish Openn is given in the article below.

Scottis Open LogoScottish Open is a professional golf tournament which was first played in 1972. It is one of the tournament played on the European Tour. The tournament is played in Scotland and one of the richer tournement of European Tour. It is a Stroke Play format tournament and played in the month of July. The current Prize Money of this tournament is 3 million British Pounds.

History of Scottish Open

The tournament was started in 1972 with the name Sunbeam Electric Scottish Open. From 1974-85, the tournament was not held. Neil Coles of England won the inaugural tournament, while Brian Hugget of Wales was the runner-up. From 1986-94, the tournament was played with the name Bell's Scottish Open. In year 1996, it was held two times. From 2002-11, its name changed to Barclays Scottish Open. Luke Donald of England is the current champion of Scottish Open.

Venues of Scottish Open

The inaugural Scottish Open was played at Downfield, Dundee. But the next year the venue was changed to St. Andrews, Old Course. During its comeback the tournament was played at Haggs Castle. But from year 1987-94, King's Course, Gleneagles was the venue of the tournament. From 1996-2010, Loch Lomond Gol Club hosted the tournament. Currently in 2011, the tournament was played at Castle Stuart Golf Links whose length is 7050 yards.

Past Winners of Scottish Open

Ian Woosman has won the Scottish Open for three different years in 1987, 1990 and 1996. Ernie Els has won the tournament for two times (2000 and 2003).
  • 1972 - Neil Coles (England)
  • 1973 - Graham Marsh (Australia)
  • 1986 - David Feherty (Northern Ireland)
  • 1987 - Ian Woosman (Wales)
  • 1988 - Barry Lane (England)
  • 1989 - Michael Allen (United States)
  • 1990 - Ian Woosman (Wales)
  • 1991 - Craig Parry (Australia)
  • 1992 - Peter O'Malley (Australia)
  • 1993 - Jesper Parnevik (Sweden)
  • 1994 - Carl Mason (England)
  • 1995 - Wayne Riley (Australia)
  • 1996 - Ian Woosman (Wales)
  • 1996 - Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)
  • 1997 - Tom Lehman (United States)
  • 1998 - Lee Westwood (England)
  • 1999 - Colin Montgomerie (Scotland)
  • 2000 - Ernie Els (South Arica)
  • 2001 - Retief Goosen (South Africa)
  • 2002 - Eduardo Romero (Argentina)
  • 2003 - Ernie Els (South Africa)
  • 2004 - Thomas Levet (France)
  • 2005 - Tim Clark (South Africa)
  • 2006 - Johan Edfors (Sweden)
  • 2007 - Gregory Havret (France)
  • 2008 - Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)
  • 2009 - Martin Kaymer (Germany)
  • 2010 - Edorado Molinari (Italy)
  • 2011 - Luke Donald (England)


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: