History, Winners and Prize Money of WGC-HSBC Champions, a professional Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament - WGC-HSBC Champions, which is also one of the five World golf championships played in the world. Here is the detail about this golf event - its history, winners, venue and prize money.

WGC-HSBC Champions is a men's professional golf tournament and one of the four World Golf Championships. Before 2009, its name was HSBC Champions, as it was not an World Golf Championships.

History of WGC-HSBC Champions

The tournament was established in 2005. It was sanctioned by four tours - The European Tour, Asian Tour, Sunshine Tour, and the PGA Tour of Australasia. Later it was sanctioned by PGA Tour alongwith these tours. In the inaugural edition of the tournament David Howell of England become winner. In 2009, when the tournament become one of the four World Golf Championships, Phil Mickelson of United States become the first to won the championship. It was also his second win in this tournament. The current champion of WGC-HSBC Championship is German golfer Martin Kaymer.

As Top different Tour players participates in this tournament, it offers a huge prize money. In 2005, its total prize money was $5,000,000. Current prize money of this tournament is $7,000,000 which is highest among any other golf event in Asia.

Winners of WGC-HSBC Champions in previous years

  • 2005 - David Howell (England)
  • 2006 - Yang Yong-eun (South Korea)
  • 2007 - Phil Mickelson (United States)
  • 2008 - Sergio Garcia (Spain)
  • 2009 - Phil Mickelson (United States)
  • 2010 - Francesco Molinari (Italy)
  • 2011 - Martin Kaymer (Germany)

Information regarding WGC-HSBC Champions

  • Name of the Tournament - HSBC Champions (from 2005 to 2008), WGC-HSBC Champions (2009-present)
  • Tournament Location - Shanghai (China)
  • Venue - Sheshan Golf Club
  • Total Prize Money of WGC-HSBC Champions - $7,000,000
  • Tournament Format - Strokeplay

Related Articles

History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

History, winners and venues of Scottish Open, a professional golf tournament

Scottish Open is one of the professional golf tournament played on European Tour. Having a heavy prize money of 3 million british pounds, the tournament is very important for the golfers. The information about this tournament like its History, past winners and venues of Scottish Openn is given in the article below.

More articles: Golf tournaments


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: