History, winner and venue of South African Open, a golf tournament

This article is a national open golf tournament - South African Open. This tournament is started in 1903 and the inaugural edition was won by Laurie Waters. Gary Player won this event a record 13 times. Here is given the history, venue and winners list of this tournament.

South African Open logoSouth African Open is a national open golf tournament. It is one of the main tournament on the Sunshine Tour. Since 1997 it has also been co-sanctioned by the European Tour. The tournament format is Stroke play.

History, Venue and Prize Money of the South Africa Open

The inaugural edition of the tournament was won by Laurie Waters. Initially the tournament was played over 36 holes. But from 1908, it was extended to 72 holes event.

It was played at Durban County Club in Durban. Current venue of the tournament is Serengeti Golf Club. The prize money of the tournament is 1,000,000 euros.

Winners of the South African Open in the previous years

Gary Player of South Africa won the South African Open tournament a record 13 times. Other notable winners of this tournament are Bobby Locke and Sid Brews, who won the tournament nine and eight times respectively. The winner of the 2011 South African Open is Hennie Otto of South Africa.

Here is given the list of the winners of the South African Open after 2000 :

  • 2001 - Mark McNulty (Zimbabwe)
  • 2002 - Tim Clark (South Africa)
  • 2003 - Trevor Immelman (South Africa)
  • 2004 - Trevor Immelman (South Africa)
  • 2005 - Retief Goosen (South Africa)
  • 2005 - Tim Clark (South Africa)
  • 2006 - Ernie Els (South Africa)
  • 2007 - James Kingston (South Africa)
  • 2008 - Richard Sterne (South Africa)
  • 2009 - Richie Ramsay (Scotland)
  • 2010 - Ernie Els (South Africa)
  • 2011 - Hennie Otto (South Africa)

Related Articles

History, Venue and winners of the Portugal Masters Golf tournament

This article is about a professional golf tournament Portugal Masters, which is been played on Oceanico Victoria Golf Course in Portugal and the part of European Tour. Here is given the details of history, venue and previous winners of this tournament. Steve Webster is the winner of its inaugural edition in 2007.

History, winners and venues of Scottish Open, a professional golf tournament

Scottish Open is one of the professional golf tournament played on European Tour. Having a heavy prize money of 3 million british pounds, the tournament is very important for the golfers. The information about this tournament like its History, past winners and venues of Scottish Openn is given in the article below.

More articles: Golf tournaments


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: