Team, rules, venue, fixture and dates of Big Bash cricket league, Australia

The Big Bash twenty twenty domestic cricket has been converted into Big Bash league after the entry of franchisee just in the same pattern of Indian Premier league (IPL). See details about the teams, rules introduced, fixture and dates of Big bash league, Australia.

Big Bash twenty twenty tournament was started in 2005 but was not as popular as Indian Premier League. Now this tournament will be in the form of league and each team will be owned by franchisee as the investors made a stake of 33% in the said league.

The new revamped Big bash League will introduce many new rules to make the tournament more interesting. The commercialized form of Big bash league and introduction of foreign players will help Cricket Australia to expose their new talent as a wide gap is being felt after the era of Hayden, Gilchrist, Mcgrath, Warne and Ponting.

In this new form of Big bash league there will be no New South Wales, Tasmania etc but new teams based on cities with new color. The teams are based on main grounds in the capitals of each of the six Australian states namely Hobart, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney. Melbourne and Sydney will have an extra team each at the Etihad Stadium, and the Sydney Olympic Park respectively.

Starting date and format in Big Bash premiere league

The first edition of Big Bash Premiere league T20 cricket tournament will start in summer in Australia that is in December. However exact date and fixture has not been announced yet. Each team will play other team once and then final. The winner of Big Bash Premiere league will play in Champions league.

In Big Bash league foreign players are also being signed by teams and their franchisee. Many other innovative ideas and new rules has been introduced in this league to make it more interesting and to ensure success of the league. After BCCI announced that Indian players will not participate in Big Bash league due to prior schedules, Australia are trying their best for the success even without Indian players.

Teams of Big Bash premiere league Twenty 20 cricket tournament

There will be eight teams based on the Australian state and their cricket ground and Melbourne and Sydney will be having two teams. Each team has been alloted certain color of jersey and a venue

The teams are

Adelaide Strikers
Jersey color - Blue
Venue - Adelaide Oval
Coach - Darren Berry

Brisbane Heat
Jersey color - Teal
Venue - Gabba
Coach - Darren Lehmann

Hobart Hurricanes
Jersey color - Purple
Venue - Bellerive Oval
Coach - Not announced

Perth Scorchers
Jersey color - Orange
Venue - WACA Ground
Coach - Mickey Arthur

Melbourne Renegades
Jersey color - Red
Venue - Etihad Stadium
Coach - Simon Helmot

Melbourne Stars
Jersey color - Green
Venue - Melbourne Cricket ground (MCG)
Coach - Greg Shipperd

Sydney Sixers
Jersey color - Pink
Venue - Sydney cricket ground (SCG)
Coach - To be announced

Sydney Thunder
Jersey color - Electric green
Venue - Sydney Olympic Park
Coach - To be announced

Foreign players in Big Bash Premiere league

Though Indian players will not be available for Big bash league as per BCCI instruction, many players of other Countries like South Africa, West Indies, England, Pakistan will be participating and many players like Sahid Afridi, Naved Up Hasan, Abdul Razzak, Owais Shah, Keiron Pollard, Chris Gayle, Herscelle Gibbs, Paul Collingwood, Fidel Edward etc had already signed the contract with teams of Big Bash league.

No Indian and present Sri Lankan players have signed any contract for Big BAsh league. IPL star bowler Latish Malinga was approached but he refused giving edge to his National assignments.


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: